Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children #1) by Seanan McGuire

Every Heart a Doorway (Wayward Children, #1)4.75ish stars.

A very near-perfect little novella that somehow manages to be heart-breaking and hopeful at once. One of my favorites in a long time.

It’s hard for me to suss out exactly what made me enjoy reading this book so much. I blew through it without stopping to think about what I liked. I guess that means I like all of it? The atmosphere of the book and the setting is strange, a tiny bit creepy but also inviting. The writing is quite witty and intelligent, especially considering the younger age of most of the protagonists. As mad scientist Jack muses:

“Corpses are incapable of offering informed consent, and are hence no better than vibrators.”

Words of wisdom. The writing is also very simple; this was a very easy read. I guess in some ways it feels a little shallow, like there could have been more detail or like things could have been explored deeper, but in its own little way it gave me exactly what I needed, not an ounce more or less.

The plot isn’t airtight, but I don’t care because it plays a supporting role to the book’s theme of individuality and to the characters who embody the theme. I also appreciate the inclusive nature of the character pool. There is so much crammed into such a little book that I’m surprised it absorbed me as much as it did. I’m now dying to return to this world and learn more. I don’t know what to expect with the following book(s?) considering some of the characters are seemingly gone for good, I just know that I need them now!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

